THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Looking for a good Load for 55g Nosler BT in (corrected) .243Win.

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Looking for a good Load for 55g Nosler BT in (corrected) .243Win.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I looked in the Nosler manual and modeled some of their loads in QuickLoad. They are scary high in pressure. I called them and they say they are fine, though the pulled the H380 loads out of the sixth edition, or so they said. If you have QuickLoad, try modeling 53.0g of H380 and the 55g bullet (the max H380 load in their 5th edition manual). I get predicted velocities that match theirs but the predicted pressures are way over max. Even their starting load models ~10,000 psi over max. I may be doing something wrong but I've been using QuickLoad for several years and normally get results that are within reason, often within a couple of percent in predicted muzzle velocity.

I'm using Lapua brass which, in my rifle, has a water grain capacity of 53.3g. That's a bit smaller volume than one might expect (I chambered it myself and it is a tight chamber on purpose) but it shoots well and I expect to use slightly lower charges as a result.

So before I load 5 rounds of the minimum load in 5 or 6 powders to get a chronograph reading, and establish at least a safe starting point, are there any powders that have worked well for you?

I'm hoping to get a load that will produce 1/2" groups at a muzzle velocity in the vicinity of 3700 fps or more (more is better if it groups well). I already get 1/2" groups with the 75g V-Max but would like a flatter shooting bullet for ground hogs here in PA that has a little more PBR than my .223 Remington.

Thanks
Fitch

Posts: 153 | Location: Carlisle, PA | Registered: 04 August 2007Reply With Quote
one of us