Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How Can I tell if I have a good crimp??
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading and my hornady set says to turn in 1/16 to 1/8 turns until desired crimp. How do I know when I have a good crimp??

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jwamp82:
I'm new to reloading and my hornady set says to turn in 1/16 to 1/8 turns until desired crimp. How do I know when I have a good crimp??

Are you loading rifle or handgun ammo? Generally speaking, rifle ammo does not need to be crimped, however, there are exceptions. For handgun ammo, I like Lee's taper crimp dies.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I'm loading hunting rifles.

posted Hide Post
300 wsm, 7 wsm, 243 wssm, 223, 300 win mag, all bolt action model 70

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
300 wsm, 7 wsm, 243 wssm, 223, 300 win mag, all bolt action model 70

I would never crimp any of those round even if the bullet had a grove to allow it. Back the die off so it doesn't touch the brass and then adjust the seater to give you the OAL you need.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I don't crimp those calibers at all. I do use a very light crimp on the real big bore double rifles and on a few very large caliber bolt gun calibers that tend to bump bullets back in the case. A light crimp and a near full case of powder cures this in the big bores.

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 42015 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Great to know. Every book I've read said it's a must to crimp hunting loads. It's good to find out from actual people not some author who got it out of another book

one of us
posted Hide Post