Find
Notify
Tools

Relocating game.....
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Lorenzo
posted
Does any have some experience with this??
Moving wild game using darts it's not easy, they wake up before arriving to the new areas and this can be a problem.
Any imputs..??
Thanks
L

Posts: 3085 | Location: Uruguay - South America | Registered: 10 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hi Lorenzo, I have no experience with darting myself, but could maybe ask a friend who would probably know. What animals are we dealing with? Some animals are ok even though they have not been darted or sedated. In Africa, many of the herd antelope species are simply rounded up with choppers into a crate on the back of a trailer and trucked away. This is the cheapest form of relocation for many species. Impala and probably other antelope do occasionally die from shock with capture, especially if nets are used and they are handled excessively without sedatives in the heat. Over-heating is a problem for a darted animal, as they can not regulate or cool their body temperature once they are out.

I know some cats, such as cheetahs, are quite sensitive to immobilization drugs, and I know that they come around much sooner than most animals due to their fast metabolism, and it takes vets who really know what they are doing, as they can die obviously if under for too long as well.

How far is the distance between darting and the new boma or release area? If the animals need to be sedated on a lengthy trip, then it may be a problem. Bigger animals can sometimes be a problem too if they lie down and can cause breathing problems or potential blood-pressure problems with say a giraffe. I hope this has been some use,
Cheers for now,
Nzou.

Posts: 302 | Location: England | Registered: 10 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post