New
Find
Notify
Tools

SUggestions for 44
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am fairly new to pistol shooting. I am looking for a hardcast bullet for my 44 mag for use in bear defense. Can anyone recommend a good hardcast to reload with.

As well, I have never reloaded for pistol but have reloaded lots of rifle so any tips on reloading hardcast bullets would be appreciated as well.

Thanks

Posts: 187 | Location: Alberta Canada | Registered: 07 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
As usual with such questions, I suggest you go to

www.cb.gunloads.com

which is the Cast Boolits site. Ask your questions there.

I can tell you that "hard" bullets are not necessary in the .44 Magnum, where straight wheelweight alloy works very well indeed all the way up to 1500 fps. I've had pure-linotype bullets fracture in animals, being too hard and brittle. After changing to bullets made of 2/3-linotype/1/3-pure lead, I have driven 250-grain .44 semi-wadcutters COMPLETELY THROUGH bison and moose on body shots, so I also see no real need for heavier bullets.

I carried .44 Magnums and cast-bullet loads for bear defence for many years in the far North; fortunately, I never had to actually USE the pistols for that purpose. When bears needed shooting, I managed to have a rifle available. The pistol sure is an enormous comfort, though, when watching the critters mooching around and coming closer and closer....! Been there, done that, as they say.

Regards from BruceB (aka Bren Mk1)

Posts: 437 | Location: nevada | Registered: 01 March 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info Bruce

Posts: 187 | Location: Alberta Canada | Registered: 07 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
Are you using a S&W, Colt Anaconda, Ruger Redhawk or Blackhawk?
My suggestion is use a 300 grain slug at a below top end velocity.