Find
Notify
Tools

38-55 Mystery - Opinion Please
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of The Senator
posted
I am new to cast bullet reloading, and shooting. I have a Winchester 1894 in 38-55 cal. My loads are 270 gr. bullet, 24grs. H322, new cases. This load keyholes in my gun, also we have shot this load in a Winchester 1885, a Winchester 1894-1994, and a H & R single shot they all keyholed. My other load is a 270gr bullet, 20grs of 5744, new cases, they also all keyholed in all the guns. Any help, advice etc will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.
The Senator (Jerry Kazee) jerry.kazee@yahoo.com

Life Member NRA
Life Member CA Rifle & Pistol Assoc.
DOJ Certified Handgun Instructor
Rocky Mt. Elk Foundation
NRA Certified Range Safety Officer

Posts: 535 | Location: Lincoln, CA 95648 | Registered: 19 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Slug the bore-they don't fit. Dr.C

At Home on the Range-Texas Panhandle

one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
I suspect you are shooting the Lyman 375449. It's a good bullet. I use it in my 375 Whelen.
In my rifle the accurate size is .378 to .379.
I'd bet the bullet size is the problem.

Jim

"Whensoever the General Government assumes undelegated powers, its acts are unauthoritative, void, and of no force." --Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 6173 | Location: Richmond, Virginia | Registered: 17 September 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
If I remember correctly the 38-55 used a .378 diameter bullet. I don't remember the original weight bullet it used, but if your bullet is too heavy it will most likely be too long to stabilize. A combination of too small, too long a bullet and low velocity could be your problem.

Posts: 231 | Location: Central Oregon | Registered: 08 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'll bite; what "270 gr bullet"?

Larry Gibson

Posts: 1489 | Location: University Place, WA | Registered: 18 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of The Senator