New
Find
Notify
Tools

What .357 mould.
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to casting and wish to shoot lead cast bullets in my Rossi 92 in .357. I have used commercial cast 158 grainers and they performed allright at about 1450 - 1500 fps. I am after a mould closer to 180 grains. Can anyone recommend me a mould to use. I see Lee only goes upto 158gr and wish I could get my hands on one of the 180gr 6 x that was the group buy mould.

Any suggestions. Thanks in advance.

Posts: 91 | Location: Brisbane, Australia. | Registered: 25 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I shoot the RCBS 38-158-SWC gascheck in my Rossi 357 with very good results. In 100% wheelweights, and including gascheck, it weighs 165 grs.

Using 16 grs Lil'Gun, I get 1815 fps muzzle velocity. Look in the "Shooting" section of www.castbullet.com for a recent article about it.

Posts: 108 | Location: Northcentral Louisiana | Registered: 06 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Doc, LBT makes a very similar mould, or you could feed the specs into the program at mountainmolds.com and have one made.

You are going to have to be extremely lucky to find and get one of the groups buys. There were only 45 made and I don't see anyone who has one and has shot it parting with it.

I seem to remember that Badass Wallace down on your continent got one. You might check with him to see if a deal is possible. You might also check with Lar45 for permission to have another run made. I don't think it would be any trouble at all to find 25 takers.

It is a good citizen's duty to love the country and hate the gubmint.

Posts: 1570 | Location: Base of the Blue Ridge | Registered: 04 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Lar45
posted Hide Post
Your right, with as good as it shoots, we could probably do another 25 without a problem.