Find
Notify
Tools

Postell and Creedmore type bullets
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of flutedchamber
posted
Can someone tell me what makes a bullet a Postell or Creedmore type? I have looked all over the net, but can find no description of either type. I have loaded jacketed bullets for many years, but I am new to cast bullets.

Thanks.

NRA LIFE MEMBER

You can trust the government. Look how well they took care of the American Indian...

Posts: 425 | Location: New Jersey The state sucks, but it's better than living in France. | Registered: 11 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Try Montana Precision Swaging. They make nice bullets.

Posts: 388 | Location: NW Oregon | Registered: 13 November 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
As I understand it, the Postell bullets were a bore riding design, in that the nose of the bullet was bore-sized, allowing the nose of the bullet to ride the tops of the lands when it was chambered. Go see this link

Posts: 11 | Location: Central Louisiana | Registered: 28 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of flutedchamber
posted Hide Post
PawPawD,

Thank you for the information and websites. The Postell bullet was recommended by a friend, but he could not tell me anything of it's design.

NRA LIFE MEMBER

You can trust the government. Look how well they took care of the American Indian...

Posts: 425 | Location: New Jersey The state sucks, but it's better than living in France. | Registered: 11 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
A postell bullet is a bore-rider, but not all bore-riders are postells.

I believe, but cannot confirm, that the postell differs by having a certain type of ogive and tip. Exactly what this "type" is has never been defined to my knowledge.