Find
Notify
Tools

Powder coating 8 brinell hardness
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of cal30 1906
posted
Hey guys i'm fairly new to casting and picked up some alloy from Roto metal and they say its approximately 8 in hardness. Can I push these @ 1100-1200 fps if I powder coat?
I know I should be around 12-18 to be on the safe side if I used traditional lube.
Let me know what you experienced casters think.

If it cant be Grown it has to be Mined! Devoted member of Newmont mining company Underground Mine rescue team. Carlin East,Deep Star ,Leeville,Deep Post ,Chukar and now Exodus Where next? Pete Bajo to train newbies on long hole stoping and proper blasting techniques.
Back to Exodus mine again learning teaching and operating autonomous loaders in the underground. Bringing everyday life to most individuals 8' at a time!

Posts: 3070 | Location: Northern Nevada & Northern Idaho | Registered: 09 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
1100 fps, probably depending on your barrel & what powder. !200 fps you're starting to need a harder bullet but the only way to find out is to burn some powder & see. I've shot a lot of them in the 1100 fps range at an 8BHN without any problems.

Dick

One of Us
Picture of cal30 1906
posted Hide Post
Six shot
Thank you for your reply.
Where you using powder coated bullets when you were shooting them @1100 fps? I have been shooting coated bullets for a few years now and spent about 350.00 in molds and Lee pot to cut my costs a little and for pistol bullets I see no reason to ever buy a jacketed bullet again. They just plain work and I find casting very therapeutic and satisfying when they emerge from the mold all nice and shiny.
Hell even my wife likes casting her own and powder coating them herself.
Thanks again for the reply.
Scott