New
Find
Notify
Tools

alloy and velocity
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm pretty new to this stuff, and this forum has been quite helpful to me. The more I read about hardness, alloy content, and velocity, the more confused I get. I started by casting practice loads for practice in my big bores. I started with WW, casting GC 350 grainers for my 416 Rigby, and 400 grainers without GC for my 470 NE. My velocities are about 2000 fps with the 416, and 1200-1400 with the 470. With my next batch, I plan to add some monotype or linotype, which I have aquired through the classifieds here and on Ebay. My question is, about what Brinnel hardness should I be after for these loads? I don't have a tester, but can reach a fair approximation by just adjusting the ratio of metals in my mix.
Essentially, I just want to avoid trouble with fouling, and achieve reasonable accuracy. These won't be hunting loads, just fairly high volume practice.

Posts: 1978 | Location: South Dakota | Registered: 22 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
This site has about everything you want to know about cast bullets. http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletNotes.htm

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!

Posts: 7752 | Location: kalif.,usa | Registered: 08 March 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Marty, I am in same boat as you. Just getting going casting for 416 Rigby and 450/400. Where you getting leading with 416's at 2000 fps? I have fired a few cast 350gc from the Rigby and no problems so far just using WW's and a bit of tin for better mold fill. Another newb question but how do you tell when leading is happening?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm sure I'm getting some, but I can't tell if it would be problematic. I still have a supply of Hunter's Extreme Coppermelt, which is no longer made. I clean every session, and the patches come out clean after a half dozen or so, so I haven't worried too much.