Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

casting lead rope-- help plz!!
 Login/Join

posted
i'm new to the casting world and have read a lot of forums. i've got 2 types of lead for casting, wheel weights and lead from lead core ropes. i smelted the rope and the lead ingots look good but the edges are rounded, i read in aother post that this means there is not enough tin, chances are it is pure lead. i have a lot of this lead 50-60 lbs. on hand. do i just add some lead free solder? or just mix it with the wheel weight lead? i'm going to be making 400 and 450gr bullets for my 45-70 browning 78 and keeping to the light side for shooting targets. i'd hate to waste it.

Posts: 76 | Location: British Columbia | Registered: 17 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
Smoke
See if you can find some linotype to add some tin and antimony to the pure lead.
It could be you didn't have the temp. high enough for pure lead.
Jim

"Whensoever the General Government assumes undelegated powers, its acts are unauthoritative, void, and of no force." --Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 6173 | Location: Richmond, Virginia | Registered: 17 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Have never used lead rope ... but almost pure lead is fairly easy to spot. 1) Melting point is higher than WW or lino. 2) The material melts through kind of a crubbly or pasty stage. 3) Is pretty soft!

I'd either add lino or high percentage tin solder (60:40) to get it up to at least 20:1 (lead:tin).

Use a good bullet lube and that should be fine for the 45-70 if the velocities are reasonable.

Mike

--------------
DRSS, Womper's Club, NRA Life Member/Charter Member NRA Golden Eagles ...
Knifemaker, http://www.mstarling.com

Posts: 6199 | Location: Charleston, WV | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post