Find
Notify
Tools

Now what? Help!
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of b.martins
posted
I am new to casting, as declared on a previous thread (I take the opportunity to thank everybody for all advice given).
Following the advice of some of the members I have decided to start with caliber 45-70 (Marlin 1895). Slugged bbl measured .457â€.

Now I am facing a LOT of difficult decisions regarding which equipment to buy (on a limited budget):

- What is really necessary and what can I do without?
- Some of the equipment is available from various manufactures: which to choose?

1 – Furnace – RCBS, LYMAN and LEE are available. LEE “Production Pot IVâ€â€ seems a reasonable choice (at least price wise).

2 – Moulds – RCBS and LEE are available – RCBS’ are REALLY very expensive when compared to LEE’s!. But I can’t find a .458†LEE mould (just .457â€)!

3 – Sizer/Sizer die/Sizer punch/Sizer kit – RCBS sizer, LYMAN die and LEE sizer kit available (in .457â€).
Is LEE sizer kit (inexpensive) any good? Does it actually eliminates the need for a sizer and lubricator + sizer die + punch ?

Thermometer, dipper, ingot mould, etc available from RCBS, LYMAN and/or LEE. Shall I go with the less expensive?

ADVICE NEEDED!

Thank you

B.Martins

What every gun needs, apart from calibre, is a good shot and hunter behind it. - José Pardal

Posts: 538 | Location: Lisboa,Portugal | Registered: 16 August 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I like RCBS, Lyman and SAECO, but there are a lot of guys on here that swear by Lee. Make your best judgments on the responses you get here, and then buy what you can afford. I, for one, like to buy one time and be done with it. In my experience, Lee products just don't hold up...

You don't say what your budget limit is, but FWIW, here goes...