New
Find
Notify
Tools

Casting Learning Curve
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Well as you may have guessed I'm new at this game and need some help.

Problem 1: I was given a Lee Mould which cast a .358" 150gr Hollow Point Semi Wadcutter bullet. The problem I'm having with it is getting the tip to completely fill out. Any ideas?

Any idea as to which Lyman Top Punch to use with this bullet?

Problem 2: I bought a Lyman dipper to do the pouring, and lead wants to cling to it to the point interfering with the actual pouring. Any ideas of how to get the clinging lead off and how to prevent it from sticking to the dipper?

I'm also pouring a 45cal bullet in a Lee mould that's doing fine, so I don't think my alloy is the problem with the .358 bullet. The alloy is straight wheelweights with some chilled shot thrown in.

Thanks to all,

Rick

Posts: 178 | Location: North Alabama | Registered: 15 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
There are several things you need to do; the first being to thoroughly scrub the mold in hot soapy water and then dry it completely. Next, using wooden matches, smoke the cavity (both sides) and nose pin. It doesn't hurt to follow Lee's instructions about lubricating the mold either (very sparingly). You also should rub the entire top surface of the mold with a soft pencil to prevent galling. Third, raise the temp. of your pot to 800 deg. F to start. Lower it to 750 deg. after ~20 successful casts. Lastly, clean the dipper with a wire wheel (Do this outdoors and use eye protection.), then smoke it with a candle until it's completely covered with soot. Repeat frequently to prevent the problem. ...Maven

Posts: 480 | Location: N.Y. | Registered: 09 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
sanman--My guess would be you need to flux a little better and perhaps cast a little hotter.

Posts: 1289 | Location: San Angelo,Tx | Registered: 22 August 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post