New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to hog hunting (TX) couple of questions
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
While not new to hunting (though it's been awhile) I am new to hog hunting. A buddy of mine has a lease here in NE TX and has put out a feeder/cameras and a couple of blinds.

Last Friday we went out for the first time, got on station about 2030 and unloaded and in the blinds around 2100. We hunkered down for a wait after reviewing the cameras which showed allot of actvity at 0300 and 0700 and some at 12.

the blinds are about 30m from the feeder and the plan was to use green lights to light them up when they were busy at the feeder (also mellons and cabbage) and for to light them up
:-)

Ok, well all went well, we heard them coming in around 12...sounded pretty close so we gave it 5 more minute then lit the lights....mistake! as soon as they saw the light they started turning around my buddy took a shot but missed ( I talked to him about this as he is very new to hunting), I did not since I had no shot.

So the question;

When hunting Hogs at night how do you light them up?

Also let's say they do turn around like this last time what are the chances they might come back in a bit? Seemed like two separate groups on the camera so we were wondering if we should have just sat around for a couple more hours.

Also I chose to use an AK7.62x39 154gr sp with a H1 RDS but really did not like the way the dot appeared in the green light. my only other current options are rifles with peep sights or my CZ with a 1x4-20mm Nikon...not sure which is best?

Any help you can lend to this Novice is appreciated.

Posts: 51 | Location: NTX / NWPA | Registered: 11 September 2013Reply With Quote
Picture of Whitworth
posted Hide Post