New
Find
Notify
Tools

Customer Service
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
It is getting to the point, that quality of the scopes available on the market are nowhere near as important as weighing out the quality of their customer service...

I have had good luck for years with Weaver Brand Optics....

I have tried Simmons, which are owned by the same outfit... I have had some Simmons go south, but not until recently have I had a Weaver go bad...

It did so within 3 weeks of receipt.. It was a V16 and was mounted on top of a 223 bolt action rifle, shooting light loads no less.. more equivalent to the 221 Fireball...

So I got an authorization to return it....going on 3 months ago now....I might as well shot it out into space....

Weaver and Simmons were purchased within the last year by Meade Optics...

From dealing with them, on getting two scopes replaced, and then one of those going south in 3 weeks.. I have a lot of experience to pass on dealing with them....

Meade's customer service wins the award for a CRAP organization.....

Following website instructions, they don't get back to you... leave phone messages according to their instructions, they don't get back to you... they don't seem to log notes on any conversations....yet you are expected to keep track of whom you talked too last time.. what all your tracking numbers from UPS, because they can never "locate" your return... and then you provide it multiple times and they still can't seem to "locate' it.. even when UPS records show delivery....

I don't know if it is just apathy, big business corporate attitudes, poor quality control or what....

But if anyone is looking for new optics, I'd recommend looking at ANYBODY before I'd look at a thing supported by Meade...

Weaver is going to gain a crap reputation as long as they are under Meade's roof.. if all of my experiences are any indication of their poor attitudes and incompetency....

I rate Meade/Weaver/Simmons a big fat zero...