THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM OPTICS FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Optics    An odd Swarovski question in regards to their "fixed" spotter

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

An odd Swarovski question in regards to their "fixed" spotter
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Not often, a new hunting product gets me really excited. However, when I first saw the new Swarovski
spotting scope with the double eye piece, I WAS very excited. However, they are expensive!

I decided to go and look at one on Saturday and found out from the salesman that they are "fixed" power and not a variable.

I am no expert with optics but really enjoy good quality glass. With that said, why on earth do they not make a variable spotter with the double eyepiece? As far as I know, they and Doctor optics are the only companies that offer a double eyepiece (I could be wrong).

This really has me scratching my head. I would never buy a fixed power spotter but would certainly consider the variable.

I am confused (which is not saying much Smiler).

Posts: 2663 | Location: Utah | Registered: 23 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Kowa also makes a double eyepiece spotter.

Posts: 154 | Location: N. Texas | Registered: 26 February 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
Maybe its just to do one product at a time or, maybe, there is a technical problem. The sort of thing that comes to my mind is, by analogy only, why I can't recall ever seeing a Pecar Champion variable.

I'm told they exist but it seems to me the field stop used to give a constantly centred reticle in a fixed power would result in massive tunnel vision at some powers if applied to a variable.

Posts: 5106 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post