New
Find
Notify
Tools

Nikon Monarch Gold
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Does anyone have any experience with the 30MM tubed Nikon Monarch Gold scopes made a few years ago. I acquired a 1.75x6 and am considering it for my 9.3x62. It seems like a pretty sturdy scope but I have no experience with them.

Posts: 3073 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA | Registered: 11 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
What's the field-blending like? A lot of makers now seem to think fat neoprene is more important than finding your target in a hurry, and I suspect Nikon is right up there in that regard.

Posts: 5011 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't know what "field blending" is. The scope reminds me a lot of the Zeiss Conquest. I tried it last night at dark and it is very bright. It is also sharp and clear to the outer edges.

Posts: 3073 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA | Registered: 11 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
Field blending is how well the scope's field of view segues into the outer world (the opposite of "tunnel vision", where you have a thick black ring between these realms). The European makers used to think having only a fine line was important for getting on to wary or dangerous game quickly but, since image-movement called crow on their scope design, they don't care so much now.

The 1.8-5.5 Zeiss Conquest we have is not too bad but the illuminated Duralyts I've seen were shockers.

Posts: 5011 | Location: Melbourne, Australia | Registered: 31 March 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
Sambarman338-Every scope has a black ring at the outer edges. If it bothers you, then concentrate on the important part: the crosshairs! AFter all, I've yet to see an animal or target hit (or missed) because of "field blending". Big Grin