New
Find
Notify
Tools

lightweight spotter
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm going to go unguided with my brother for bighorn in Montana's unlimited area. If there are any sheep hunters (of this area would be great) is a spotting scope necessary to determine if a ram is legal or will good 10x binos do the job? Say at 1-2 miles line of sight? I'm thinking a 15-30x leupold or similar size nikon as they are fairly light but adequately powerful? Would an optical doubler for my swaro's do the same job by hopping my binos up to 20x. I carry a pack for a living and don't want to add appreciable weight if i can avoid it.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I also found a Leupold 25x50mm spotter that i assume is no longer in production. this one is nib. opinions or experience with this piece of glass?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
We have sold a ton of the Nikon 50ED with 13-30 and 13-40x zooms to guys looking for better quality with smaller size. A doubler on a binocular is no substitute for a quality spotter.

Have a great day,
Doug
gr8fuldoug@aol.com
Camera Land
516-217-1000
www.cameralandny.com

Posts: 3667 | Location: Old Bethpage NY | Registered: 08 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
7mmfreak,

Don't know if you are familiar with gr8fudoug or not. I've bought six pairs of binoculars from Doug, and can say that he is the best guy I have ever dealt with, bar none. All of the binox were at my house three days after placing the orders.
In fact, I'm about ready to order a scope from him now.

Don

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Doug,
Is the Nikon your recommendation then? I have been re-assigned from Ft Bragg,NC to Ft Carson, CO and will be using it in the highcountry to determine whether or not to chance long movements. I grew up hunting the Texas panhandle where 10x Swaro's were perfect but have not dealt much with spotters. I don't feel like I need anything over 30x?
Thanks,
Keith

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Keith,