New
Find
Notify
Tools

New scope for 500 yard 30-06
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am currently shooting a savage 30-06 with a blazer 8-32x44 scope. I am working up to the 500 yard mark slowly, but I am wondering if that blazer scope is causing me problems. Anyone have thoughts on that?

I was looking at this
Leapers 8-32x56

But I have no experience with it. Please leave any thoughts on it or suggestions on what I should be looking at or trying. Thanks.

One last thought, any experience with Hammers scopes?

Posts: 40 | Location: Kansas/Oklahoma | Registered: 14 April 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Work on sneaking up closer rather than shooting 500 Yd. . I wouldn't use Leapers anything , a friend has a couple he likes them . Then again He's Cheaper than Dirt when it comes to Optics !.

Never understood why someone would spend what ever on a Weapon , only to buy junk for optics ?

Kind of like buying a Ferrari then putting retreads bias belted tires on it !.

No substitute for quality optics IMO !.

Purchase the BEST you can afford .

Shoot Straight Know Your Target . ... salute

Posts: 1738 | Location: Southern Calif. | Registered: 08 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Any suggestions there? $230 is more than I've spent on a scope in the past, but then again I haven't been trying to do 500yards in the past.

Posts: 40 | Location: Kansas/Oklahoma | Registered: 14 April 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
no no no leapers - POS - for a decent low priced scope try mueller - their 8-25 without a illuminated but with a mill dot is less than 200. i've a couple of them and while they're not the equal to spending 500 they do well.

Posts: 13446 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post