Find
Notify
Tools

Good Trail Cameras?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Skyline
posted
Okay boys and girls.......... would like some input. Are there any GOOD trail cameras? My wife and I have been buying and using trail cameras for a few years now and all I can say is......... What a pile of crap!!!!!

We have tried various models from several of the big name companies and the number that fail to work properly in short order is staggering. Easily half of the ones we buy do not even make a season before they start acting glitchy and failing to work properly for one reason or another.

Price also has nothing to do with it, it would seem, as some of the most expensive we have tried did not last any longer than the cheap ones.......... and they are all made in China........ even Leupold's.

If you know of a particular model that has been outstanding I would sure like to hear about it.

Thanks. Smiler

The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who are bereft of that gift.

Posts: 1819 | Location: Northern Rockies, BC | Registered: 21 July 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have had four Reconyx cameras for 3-5 years, bought them in intervals. They have worked flawlessly from summer to -20 degrees.
They aren't cheap, believe these were $450 each. I also went down the money wasting road with cheaper cameras.
Get lithium AA batteries and they will last 1000s of pics and close to a year.

NRA Patron member

Posts: 2640 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 08 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Skyline
posted Hide Post
Yes we always use good batteries, learned that years ago. WE have looked at Reconyx but at $450 to $550 per camera, plus a security cage, taxes, shipping, we would be into it for $700 per camera. We need to run about a dozen at one time........ our pockets are not deep enough for that.