THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM OPTICS FORUM

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Weaver Classic V vs Redfield Revolution?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Natchez has the Weaver on sale now so there's only a 20 dollar price difference between the two.Which do you think would be the better choice?

Posts: 369 | Location: Adirondacks | Registered: 08 February 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have zero experience with the new Redfields. But, the Weaver's have been on the market for years. I have high regard for the Weaver V-16. At one time I had seven of them. So, I would personally go with the proven performer, the Weaver.

one of us
posted Hide Post
The current Weaver is made in Asia by a contractor, just like a lot of other good and not-so-good scopes. I'm not sure if it is the same contractor, or if the Weaver name is even still with the same owner as the scopes that Don praises. That name has bounced around among a number of owners over the span of years since El Paso Weaver closed down.

The Redfield is basically a time-proven Leupold Vari-X, built in Oregon, with cosmetic alterations to make it evoke the image of the old Denver Redfields.

The optical lineage of the Redfield is well-known, so I would gravitate toward it, but only an in-person examination would let you make an informed choice.

Posts: 13235 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Redfield Revived
Given the present state of the economy, an American-made scope for $129 should have no trouble finding its place in the market.
By J. Scott Olmsted, Editor in Chief