Find
Notify
Tools

Decisions, decisions ...
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of CCMDoc
posted
Looking for a low-power variable to go to Namibia in my dad's hands on a 375. This will be back-up on my Elephant and maybe his primary on Leopard and Oryx.

Might then put it on his deer gun (Rem 700Ti 300 SAUM) for use in Allegheny Mtns where we regularly hunt.

Trying to decide between:
Minox Z5 1.5-8x32
vs.
Leupold VX-3 1.5-5x20
vs.
Leupold VX-R 1.25-4x20

I am a big Leupold fan and have never been dissatisfied with any of their products over the past 5 decades.

The Minox has a 32mm objective so conceivably better light-gathering than the 20mm objectives on the Leupolds. I've no experience with Minox.

Neither my father nor I have ever used an illuminated reticle or dot. The reason for consideration now is his 72 year old eyes (and my 50) might benefit particularly for deer in brush. The Leopard will be a day not night hunt but you never know if he'll come at dawn or dusk so the illuminated reticle might be of benefit.

All are around the same price and similar weights give or take an ounce.

So, keep it simple and go with the tried and true Leupold 1.5-4x20 or one of the others?

Thanks

NRA Lifer; DSC Lifer; SCI member; DRSS; AR member since November 9 2003

Don't Save the best for last, the smile for later or the "Thanks" for tomorow

Posts: 3464 | Location: In the Shadow of Griffin&Howe | Registered: 24 November 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
you're probably not shooting eles in poor light conditions so the 32mm or red dot are not a factor, but that being said i really love the illuminated dot (just the dot, nothing more) for low light

Posts: 13446 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post