Find
Notify
Tools

Leupold questions
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted
I'm looking for a new variable scope to mount on the Ruger No.1, 270 Win and I've been shooting Leupold scopes for many years. I use it for my deer and antelope hunting so it's dawn to dusk, from 100 to 400 yards.

I was looking at the new scopes and I think I want to go with the 44mm objective to fit the slimmer look of the No.1 rifle but am I losing a lot of light transmission not going with the 50mm objective? I do shoot it all the way to the first and last legal shooting light.

I wanted a 3x-10x or 12X but the VX-5 is 3x-15x by 44mm and the VX-6 is a 3x-18x in 44mm or 50mm but the VX-6 is also offered in 2x-12 by 42mm.

I can live with any of the above, but my questions are:

42mm, 44mm or 50mm objective lens size?

The VX-5 or VX-6? The price difference is not a major concern but is the VX-6 noticeably better than the VX-5?

Finally, am I missing something significant by not buying a Swaro, Zeiss or similar Euro scope?

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12534 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of eagle27
posted Hide Post
The VX-5 and VX-6 scopes are quite big and will look big sitting on a Ruger No.1,

The VX-3HD is still right up there in optical quality and can be had in 3.5-10x40, the CDS-ZL Illuminated FireDot Twilight Hunter (30mm tube). Worth looking at.

Posts: 3847 | Location: Nelson, New Zealand | Registered: 03 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I did a test with some scopes I have, and the difference between when I couldn't see well enough to shoot and when I could between a Leupold 2-7 x 32 and a Nightforce 5.5-22 x 56 was less than 5 minutes.