Find
Notify
Tools

Redfield Bear Cub 26 mm tube
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi,

I want to know if the first Redfield Bear Cub with 26 mm tubes, pre-1" tube, after Kollmorgen sold them the scope division, have perma center reticles.

Thank you

PH

one of us
posted Hide Post
It is my recollection that they do, but I'm not an expert on the subject. I owned a Kollmorgen several years ago and I'm alomst certain that it had a centered reticle.

Posts: 13239 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you Stonecreek,

I have just bought a near mint 4x Bear Cub 26 mm tube. For me the fixed power Stith-Kollmorgen-Redfield (both 26 mm and the early 1" tube) are one of the best USA made scopes of all times!

PH

One of Us
posted Hide Post
yes they were permanent centers

Posts: 13446 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you butchloc!

PH

one of us
posted Hide Post
Kollmorgens (and perhaps the Stiths, also) were prone to the glue holding the internal lenses in place to melt (or perhaps vaporize) and leave a yellowish film on the lenses. I'm not sure if this is related to storage in an overly hot environment, of pehaps varied with the chemical composition of the glue. But you're correct that these scopes represented the state-of-the art in hunting optics in their day.

I had an old 3X Kollmorgen Bear Cub with the severly yellowed lenses and a 2 minute dot reticle mounted on an ancient Savage 99 .300. Despite the dinginess of the sight picture, the old gun would put three shots in a group that was somewhat smaller than the reticle's dot.

Posts: 13239 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted Hide Post