Find
Notify
Tools

Help decision on mounts/rings
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted
Got a few new high end scopes yesterday and wanting to order my mounts/rings. Should I stick with the Leupold Windage mount/rings or should I swap to the Warne Maxima or Talleys?

If I stay with the Leupold mounts I am not sure if the High rings will clear with 30mm tube / 50mm objective...I will measure tonight. I have used the Warne Maxima on a muzzleloader but I have no experience with the Talleys

"Let me start off with two words: Made in America"

Posts: 3326 | Location: Permian Basin | Registered: 16 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of DesertRam
posted Hide Post
They're not really "high end," but I like and typically use Burris steel Weaver style bases and Signature series Zee rings. I like those inserts.

Posts: 3301 | Location: Southern NM USA | Registered: 01 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bobby Tomek
posted Hide Post
Warne rings are all I use. They never, ever leave any mark on a scope and are utterly reliable.

Bobby
Μολὼν λαβέ
The most important thing in life is not what we do but how and why we do it. - Nana Mouskouri

Posts: 9406 | Location: Shiner TX USA | Registered: 19 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have about 25 rifles with the leupold windage adjustable mounts. They range from 30-06 to 17 fireball.
I have never had any problems with them. I have had a set or two of the Talley’s. Great ring/bases but not worth the roughly double cost of the leupolds, in my view.

NRA Patron member

Posts: 2648 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 08 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
I would favour Leupold STD mounts but if any of the others have windage adjustment they might be OK.