New
Find
Notify
Tools

Leupold vx III scope.
 Login/Join

posted
Hi everyone.
I am new to leupold scopes as i live in the uk and tend to go towards european scopes but i decided to order a vxIII 3.5x10x50 with boone and crocket ret. Wonderd what veiws other people may have on this scope. And would like to know what the boone and crocket ret is like as i already have a swarovski with the tds-4 ret.

Cheers paulhed.

Posts: 22 | Location: Northeast England | Registered: 13 September 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The VariXIII is a good piece of Optics.I am not familier with The B & C reticle,but assume its simular to a Ballistic Plex??????? I guess that stuff works,but I am not to keen on a bunch of lines and dots in my view.If your rifle is sighted in for 2 1/2-3in high at 100yds you should be good to go to about 350yds holding dead on.Thats a pretty good poke for most hunters!!!!! Big Grin

Posts: 4372 | Location: NE Wisconsin | Registered: 31 March 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The Leupold VX III 3.5-10x50 is an outstanding scope. I have used the Boone & Crocket reticle and like it quite well. Several of my shooting pals have switched to the B&C reticle for all their "longer" range rifles. Good stuff.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
paulhead.
I have used the same scope ( but with a heavy duplex) on my 35 Whelen for the last 8 yars, hunting moose and red deer.
It is an exellent scope in its price range.
The 3,5 works ok in the woods, and one can crank up to 10 on the open ranges if needed.
Ok light transmission in dusk and dawn, and handles lousy weather like and old seadog.
You cant go wrong with this one!

Arild Iversen.

Posts: 1880 | Location: Southern Coast of Norway. | Registered: 02 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Unit5A
posted Hide Post