Find
Notify
Tools

10X Binocular recommendations
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted
I need a new pair of do everything binoculars. I'd like them to be 10X and light enough to carry and use all day without giving up too much light gathering ability. I'm thinking that 40mm or 42mm lenses are what I want but I'm no expert in optics.

So you guys with the experience, what do you recommend for a $1,500 budget?

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12700 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Good morning,
Our pleasure to discuss different options with you.
In your price range I would suggest GPO Passion HD which have been field tested to be superior to the Leica Trinovid, or the Kowa Genesis GN44-10 10.5x44
Either of these would be a top choice that you would be thrilled with.

Please check out this review from another forum:
Kowa Binocular review

Have a great day,
Doug
gr8fuldoug@aol.com
Camera Land
516-217-1000
www.cameralandny.com

Posts: 3699 | Location: Old Bethpage NY | Registered: 08 September 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
A little bit over your budget, but the Zwarovski SLC 10x42 WB HD is probably the best binos in that price segment.
www.eurooptic.com has them for $1799, and there is no doubt in my mind that they are worth every cent.

I have used those for a year now alongside binos from Zeiss and Steiner, and the Zwaro is my favourite go everywhere and do everything binos.
Buy them and you will never look back.
https://www.eurooptic.com/swar...-58305-new-2013.aspx

Arild Iversen.

Posts: 1880 | Location: Southern Coast of Norway. | Registered: 02 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post