THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    Recommended hotel to stay at in Washington DC

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Recommended hotel to stay at in Washington DC
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
My wife wants to stop in DC for three days and visit museums on the way back from hunting in Namibia. We are looking into staying at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza.

Does anybody have any recommendations on hotels and attractions?

Robert Johnson

Posts: 599 | Location: Soldotna Alaska | Registered: 05 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted Hide Post
I like the Hay Adams, probably because it's old, but I am no expert on DC hotels. The Willard is nice.

AR, where the hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history become the nattering nabobs of negativisim.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Rambouillet, France | Registered: 25 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The Willard is nice and is located within a decent walk or very short cab ride of many museums. I am not familiar with the Hamilton Crowne Plaza. The Hay Adams is nice too but a bit farther from most of the museums.

Definitely wear your walking shoes, once you get to where the museums and monuments are, mostly around the mall, walking is the easiest and most enjoyable way to get around.

The NRA's National Firearms Museum is located about a half hour cab ride away (much longer during rush hours). Worth the time and trouble to me but my wife would shoot me if I dragged her there.

All of the Smithsonian Museums are worth visiting, along with the Vietnam War Memorial and the Jefferson and Lincoln Monuments.

If you look at a map, you will see that the mall runs from the Capitol to the river. Most of the museums and monuments are along the mall.