New
Find
Notify
Tools

Really Dangerous Game
 Login/Join

Picture of T.Carr
posted
About 4 clicks west of Mururu camp in Dande, came across 20 of the most dangerous of all game.

Regards,

Terry

Msasi haogopi mwiba [A hunter is not afraid of thorns]

Posts: 5338 | Location: A Texan in the Missouri Ozarks | Registered: 02 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
T.Carr
I am not a expert, but they look like live rounds to me.
Bob

Posts: 201 | Location: Georgia | Registered: 21 December 2003Reply With Quote
Picture of T.Carr
posted Hide Post
Bob,

Yes live rounds. The game scout picked one up and I headed to the other side of the hill.

This area, near the Mozambique border, was one of the major infiltration routes during the bush war.

For those unfamiliar with the Zimbabwe's bush war, here is a short outline.

A BRIEF HISTORY OF THE RHODESIAN BUSH WAR

1. In November of 1965, the Rhodesian Front government led by Ian Smith adopted the Unilateral Declaration of Independence (UDI) from the United Kingdom. The UN, at the request of the British, imposed sanctions against Rhodesia. Legislation was passed both before and after the UDI by the Rhodesian legislature restricting the political freedom of the African population.

2. In the early 1960’s, several Black Nationalist movements were banned by the Rhodesian government and driven into exile. One of the largest was the Zimbabwe African People’s Union (ZAPU). Joshua Nkomo, reverend Ndabaningi Sithole and Robert Mugabe led ZAPU. In 1963, Sithole and Mugabe formed the Zimbabwe African National Union (ZANU) after being ousted from ZAPU by Nkomo. In 1964, Nkomo, Sithole and Mugabe were apprehended and jailed.

3. Nkomo’s ZAPU was based in Tanzania. ZAPU was dominated by the Ndebele (Matabele) ethnic group and was backed by the Soviet Union and Warsaw Pact along with support from Algeria, Tanzania and Zambia.