THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    How can I prepare myself best for transition to hunting in Africa?

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

How can I prepare myself best for transition to hunting in Africa?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of JohnCrighton
posted
I'm quite new at hunting four-legged creatures Aside from a little small game hunting and a few failed attempts at deer hunting in Tennessee (stalk), all my experience is more tactical and range shooting.

What would you suggest for me to do to prepare myself for hunting plains animals in Africa? I live in Florida right now. What type of creatures and in what state would be my best bet for getting more of a feel for what to expect in Africa? I have about 2 years before I can go to Africa.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorius triumphs, even though checkered by failure... than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat. - Theodore Roosevelt

Posts: 555 | Location: Tampa, FL | Registered: 09 November 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Kyler Hamann
posted Hide Post
Obviously learning to shoot a rifle large enough to take the biggest game you're interested in is important.

You should also practice shooting from standing shooting sticks and off hand. In my experience the vegetation height generally didn't allow for bipods or sitting and kneeling with shooting sticks as common here in the US.

Also it's good to learn to shoot quickly, as if on the call of the PH. The hunting shows often make it look like you have all the time in the world but to take full advantage of all the opportunities that isn't the case.