New
Find
Notify
Tools

a most fearfull experience
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
it's been many winters since. I had been a dedicated big game hunter for many years already. north america had provided me with all the excitement i needed. but then came along a show that had a bunch of african game displayed. well i got hooked and booked my first african hunt. sou9th africa, nyala, zebra, warthogs. here i come.
Now like everybody i studied books, magazines,etc to find out all i could, but nothing whatsoever could have prepared me for what was to happen.
It was the first morning out and my PH Fred Maaris had me out looking for one stripped horse. True to expectations he had located a small herd by early in the morning.
the time of year was in late march and the cover was green and thick. Game was almost invisible, and the stories of charging giants ran through my hear.
The herd of zebra wasn't to far away and wee began a sneak. Hiding behind trees,bushes and anthills we came closer and closer.
We crouched down on a game trail in the dirt. Wildebeest mixed with the zebra had spotted us. No way could we approach closer, so we just hunkered down on the game trail and waited.
While most of my concentration was settled on the zebra, out of the corner of my eye i saw it approaching. It was coming down the trail headed straight for me. My eyes opened wide and i poked Fred pointing at the Dennison. He showed great courage shushing me. But i couldn't be quieted..It was something like a ghost. Brown and moving ever nearer without legs, in fact without and visible means of propulsion at all.
While not exceedingly large it was indeed a big turd. I had never encountered a walking turd before, and i was quite sure that was in an attack mode. Now those of you that never been attacked by a ghost turd probably will never know the fear that could encompass your soul at a time like this