THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    SCI Convention etiquette and code of conduct

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

SCI Convention etiquette and code of conduct
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Double Rifle
posted
I'm attending the convention in Las Vegas, and seeking advice from veteran visitors.

I'm not new to shows since I've been many times to shows and gamefairs around the world, but it's my first time in SCI and want to make sure I'll enjoy my visit.

Generally speaking, do I need to ask permission to handle weapons on display? What if I wanted to break open the action or cycle the bolt of a gun? Should I ask first if I should do that? Same goes for pulling the trigger. Should I ask someone to provide snap caps first? Asking before doing things is always good, but in the mean time I do not want to be asking excessively if it's not really needed.

How about weapons inside glass displays? Is it rude to ask to handle these if I'm not intending to buy?

Other than shopping for rifles, I will also compare offerings and book a safari. If I start chatting with someone and they became pushy or said things such as "you have to book now or you'll miss the special show prices", what is the best way to walk away without appearing rude?

Cheers

Posts: 53 | Location: Florida | Registered: 27 June 2017Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of twoseventy
posted Hide Post
Civilized manners and the golden rule will work.

...I say that hunters go into Paradise when they die, and live in this world more joyfully than any other men.
-Edward, duke of York

". . . when a man has shot an elephant his life is full." ~John Alfred Jordan