THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    Re: A Couple Of Buffalo Hunting Video Clips

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: A Couple Of Buffalo Hunting Video Clips
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Saeed,

Nice shot on the wildebeest, what range? Hippo, croc & waterbuck didn't suffer much either. Very nice area with plenty of cover for stalking. All taken with your 375/404?

Posts: 180 | Location: Mt. Vernon,Ohio, USA | Registered: 14 February 2004Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Yes, as I have been doing for the past several years, the 375/404 is the only one I hunt with when hunting buffalo, as well as plains game. Like last year, we have used our own Walterhog 300 grain bullets exclusively.

Recoverd bullets from this hunt

The wildebeast was about 250 yards, hippo closer than 20, croc about 220 and the waterbuck about 150.

Sure plenty of cover when buffalos are 5 yards away from you and you cannot see them.

The second buffalo we shot from the top of a mountain, he probably was not much further than 200 yards, but sure looked a lot more from up there. When I complained to Pierre about long range "sniping" at buffalo, he answered back saying "yesterday you complaint we're being too CLOSE", which was absolutely true.

Posts: 67496 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of prof242
posted Hide Post
Saeed,
Thanks for the posts. I can hardly wait for the DVDs to arrive. Unfortunately, will have to. Am leaving Sunday for the Quebec tundra on a Caribou hunt.
On a side note, roping Walter seems like it could be a team event. Ask Ray if he'd like a "heeler" to join him (he'll know). I'm volunteering.
Max

Posts: 3490 | Location: Colorado Springs, CO | Registered: 04 April 2003Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post