New
Find
Notify
Tools

bullet selection
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
nosler 150 grs ball. tip as a primary bullet in a 7mm rem mag., What do you think? 3 shot group av 0.6"
Barnes X 160 av. 1.3".
nosler partiton av. 2"
Going to Namibia hunting: oryx, kudu, springbok, Zebra.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Fox,
you need to use the right bullet for the job and that's not the Nosler BT, at least not for zebra or gemsbok. I'd use that 160gr X bullet over the BT even if it only shot 2 inch groups. I had great results with the 200gr X in my 338/06 on zebra, kudu, gemsbok and a few of the other large African antelope. I have no experience with the Nosler partition, but others on this site have.

Posts: 472 | Location: Bothell WA | Registered: 31 July 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Save the Ballistic Tips for the baboons.

Go with the 'X' or Nosler Partitions on game.

George

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of retreever
posted Hide Post
Fox,

I hunted with 300grainers and all did lots of damage internally and with the 375 all did a nose dive...You are going to shoot some very big animals and they are tuff...I definately would go with a bigger bullet and even a 175gr...and it will not let you down..Also in the wind it will carry better....Remember a 1.5 inch group will still work out super...Slam the shoulders and bone fragments will do the rest..
Have a great trip..I am of to zim in August..

Mike

Posts: 6767 | Location: Wyoming, Pa. USA | Registered: 17 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Mark in SC
posted Hide Post
If you are shooting factory loads, try the Federal Premium 160 grain Nosler Partition load. It shoots 3/4" groups in our 7mm Rem Mag.

It would be a mistake to trust a 7mm Ballistic Tip to get the job done on the animals you have listed. Keep looking until you find a premium, controlled expansion bullet that gives you acceptable accuracy.