New
Find
Notify
Tools

My first 375!! Now what...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
So I just acquired one of my bucket list rifles, a Model 70 Super Express 375 H&H. I've been looking for the "right" one off and on for maybe a decade. I accidentally stumbled into a brand new one, built in 1985. And now the research begins! And all the sudden I have more questions than answers. I'm looking for guidance, maybe towards the proper books to read, or real world experience information.

Many folks have gone to Africa with only a 375 and have done just fine. Sure, its not the best cartridge for everything, but it can successfully do everything. That said, I already have many other cartridge options above and below the 375 that could do other things too. 470 Capstick, 416 Taylor, 350 Rem Mag, 300 Winchester etc. My questions are more towards which 375 bullets folks use for which application. I've been reloading for around 25 years, and can certainly adjust to what folks recommend.

1. Do folks use one .375 bullet for all game in Africa? For example, a 270gr sturdy bonded bullet for everything?
2. Does the answer to #1 change if taking multiple guns, for example a 470Capstick for the big stuff, and the H&H for plains game...
3. If using multiple bullets, do you try and get them to all zero the same? Meaning say a 300gr stopper and a 250gr spire, both using same zero @ different ranges.
4. On dangerous game, does the H&H follow suit with other big boomers, where the first shot is a "soft-point" [chest], and the remainder are solids [penetration]?
5. Factory ammo is out there. What do folks use?

I am curious what folks have to say about specific bullets. There are a LOT!
  • I have little experience with the Swift A-Frame, but its a proven winner. Does it qualify as a dangerous game bullet?
  • Nosler Partition, I have had decent accuracy success with them in smaller stuff, not great. Folks opinions?