Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes TSX
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Dr B
posted
What is your opinion on Barnes TSX for plaines game and DG. On medium size American game I've never found anything to equal them. The TSX is the most accurate Hunting bullet I have ever shot. Penitration and wt retention are unsurpassed. Just my opinion what do you think.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Ditto, that has been my experience as well. they are an excellent bullet.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm going with the 168 TSX in my '06 for a plains games hunt in Namibia this Summer. I have no field experience with TSX bullets, only internet experience. I hope I've made the right choice!!

Posts: 317 | Location: Alabama | Registered: 06 March 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have become a bit fan of the TSX bullets...last year used them on Cape Buff (458 Lott, 500gr.), Zebra and Heartbeast (375H&H, 270gr), Mule Deer (30-378, 168gr) and Whitetail (30-378, 168gr and 308 win, 150gr). I only recovered one bullet from a Cape Buff that rest against the hide of the back end after penetrating from a "front on" shot!

Out of all the "hunting" bullets we have tested the TSX has provided the best accuracy. It seems to me that the mono-metal bullets and I include the North Fork Cup Points can be very accurate bullets...My guess is tolerences in manufacturing are much easier to control.

I plan on using the TSX again this July as well as the North Fork Cup Points...plains game and Buff...

Posts: 1999 | Location: Memphis, TN | Registered: 23 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I am cautiously awaiting all the reports on them as I already had one fail, but one failure means zilch, but it does raise a question in my mind....I have some loaded up in .416 and 375..

In the meantime I will use Northforks as they have proven themselves over and over again for me...a most perfect bullet in soft, flat nose solids and cup points....

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures