New
Find
Notify
Tools

First African Hunt...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi guys, I haven't posted here in a long time, but I'm seriously thinking about my first African hunt now. I'm pretty sure I want to hunt Namibia, but I haven't narrowed it down to what outfitter I want to use or anything like this. My concern is this, I've never done a far away hunting trip before, should I hold off on Africa and do a trip to Canada or something before to go thru the red tape once, so I'm a little more prepared? I know I could make mistakes on a Canadian hunt, too, but it's a lot closer to home and it seems like there should be less hassle for an American to get into Canada than Africa, but correct me if I'm wrong because I really don't know anything about it. Anyway, if you guys could help me out with any suggestions, they'd be much appreciated. Thanks!

I heal fast and don't scar.

Posts: 433 | Location: Monessen, PA | Registered: 23 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted Hide Post
I don't see any reason to go somewhere else first to get your feet wet (pardon the pun). There are several booking agents that post here that can arrange an African hunt. I would advise using one of them to help answer your questions and plan your hunt. Also get in contact with a travel agent that does a lot of African travel like
Gracey Travel and enjoy. You will not regret going, the only regret would be not going.

Have gun- Will travel
The value of a trophy is computed directly in terms of personal investment in its acquisition. Robert Ruark

Posts: 3830 | Location: Cave Creek, AZ | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Justin,