New
Find
Notify
Tools

How Did Your Safari Career Start?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
I grew up reading/looking at National Geographic and watching Martin and Olsa Johnson but in a family that didn’t hunt or even shoot guns. I followed my husband and his friends to Gunsite Academy and learned to shoot pistols. I never really developed a passion for “defensive shooting”, but when I started shooting rifles and hunting, my internal huntress came to life. Jeff Cooper talked about the wonders of Africa. I read all the Capstick books. I announced to my husband that I wanted to take a Cape Buffalo for my 50th birthday. We worked toward that dream for a few years. So at the SCI convention in 1996 my husband and I booked a “once in a life time” safari to Botswana’s Okavango Delta, where we were told God lives. In May prior to our planned, August safari my husband had a heart attack and was recovering well, but his doctor didn’t want him that far away. So I took his sister, my former college roommate, who was also turning 50 in August, and went on safari with my sister-in-law. What a sight we were, but got my first Cape Buffalo. Of course, while there, I contacted the dreaded addiction, and now 14 years later, my husband and I are headed off in August for my 11th African safari. We have done a few other international hunts, but they don’t tug at your heart like Africa does.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Wonderful story Mrs. Nelson! That is just wonderful.--Would like to know more one day the story about how you fell in love with your roommate's brother too! BTW did you get all squared away with your target order?

Regards,
Marc

Posts: 636 | Location: The Hills | Registered: 24 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Found out how much it costs to MAYBE shoot an elk out west.....

No brainer....

Posts: 444 | Location: Hudson Valley | Registered: 07 July 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Code4
posted Hide Post