New
Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes TSX or TSX tipped?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Will be doing a Nilgai hunt soon and wondered if there were opinions between the two bullets. I've not heard anything negative about either. Thanks, smoker1

The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.
--Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 868 | Location: NYS | Registered: 25 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BrettAKSCI
posted Hide Post
This is the wrong forum, but TSX will work wonderfully! I have no experience with the tipped.

Brett

DRSS
Life Member SCI
Life Member NRA
Life Member WSF

Rhyme of the Sheep Hunter
May fordings never be too deep, And alders not too thick; May rock slides never be too steep And ridges not too slick.
And may your bullets shoot as swell As Fred Bear's arrow's flew; And may your nose work just as well As Jack O'Connor's too.
May winds be never at your tail When stalking down the steep; May bears be never on your trail When packing out your sheep.
May the hundred pounds upon you Not make you break or trip; And may the plane in which you flew Await you at the strip.
-Seth Peterson

Posts: 4551 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 21 February 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of retreever
posted Hide Post
Any of the TSX's will be devastating...

Mike

Michael Podwika... DRSS bigbores and hunting www.pvt.co.za " MAKE THE SHOT " 450#2 Famars

Posts: 6767 | Location: Wyoming, Pa. USA | Registered: 17 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you folks, appreciate your info. smoker1

The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.
--Thomas Jefferson

one of us
Picture of Andy
posted Hide Post
Smoker,

If you look at the cross section of the two bullets, the TSX is same HP profile as the Barnes X. Same depth and width of HP on most calibers.

the Tipped bullet is more of a V shaped internal HP behind the ballistic tip poly carbon tip.