Tools

Differences in 416's
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of cold
posted
Ok so I am new to the big big bores

and heres my question

I have seen a 416 rigby, 416 remington and 416 weatherby (i think)

questions are as follows

1. which is the most popular and used the most in africa, which has the most factory ammo loadings etc, which is easiest to re load

2. personal preference, which one do you like and why

3. how old is each one

thanks gents!

Posts: 221 | Location: SEC | Registered: 15 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Although the rigby is the oldest, I think (sometimes not my strong point) that the remingtonis more common. My preference is for none of the above. I like the 416 dakota.

Posts: 13460 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Widowmaker416
posted Hide Post
Cold,

I'm a Remington fan, I've shot the Model 700 for about 6 years now. I'm 100% happy with it, took some very good critters with it, I really don't see me changing. I have quite a few Remingtons in my gun case, including shotguns.

And I do agree, Remington is more popular.

Posts: 1782 | Location: New Jersey USA | Registered: 12 July 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bwanahile
posted Hide Post
Cold,

I just bought a 416 Rigby. From a ballistics perspective (which I am certainly not an expert), I dont think you will a a dramatic amount of difference. Given the Rigby's age and origin, I think it is the most popular in Africa closely followed by the 416 Remington. Factory ammo for all is available, but the Ribgy ammo is quite a bit more expensive.

Posts: 757 | Location: Nashville/West Palm Beach | Registered: 29 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Cold,
I got my .416 Rigby a year ago and I�m very satisfied. Recoil is managable, low pressure cartridge and if you handload it�s as expensive as the others.