THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    Re: Weight and Capacity Of Our 416 Rem and 404 Bra

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Weight and Capacity Of Our 416 Rem and 404 Bra
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Vapodog,

I have only been involved in reloading for ~ 20 years, but the truth is reloading has little to do with internal ballistics and more to do with following "cook book" instructions published in reloading manuals.

Now
Quote:

I've been reloading for over forty years and the term....."feet per second per grain of powder" has literally no meaning to me. Further to assert that velocity is somehow linear to powder used is a new concept to me.

It is a common to use the energy per grain of powder for a given load. It isn't linear, that is true. However, for relatively small differences in powder charge, say 10%, the relationship is VERY NEARLY LINEAR. Powder energy per grain varies exponentially between, for common rifle propellants, 1.1 to 1.3 order. Linear is a 1 order exponential equation, so powder energy per grain AIN'T off by much.

Now I can literally post DOZENS of loads chronographed and with powder charges weighed to a 0.1 grain to support the VERY nearly linear relationship between powder charge, velocity, and pressure.

Of the discussion going on between Alf and Mike375, I would say that Alf is FAR closer to understanding the internal ballistics than is Mike. Mike is simply regurgitating the generic data relating pressure, powder charge weight, and velocity, which has been published for decades and is standard SAAMI doctrine of "safe" (read non-technical) reloading.