THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    First real hunting rifle, may take to Africa eventually - is this a good one?
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

First real hunting rifle, may take to Africa eventually - is this a good one?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of JohnCrighton
posted
OK, I'm pretty new to larger game hunting. I've shot some squirrels, rabbit, quail, but never did get a deer. This was about 8 years ago.

Getting back in to hunting now with the goal in 2 years of going to Africa to hunt Eland, Blesbok, Kudu, Wildebeast, Impala, Springbuk, and Warthog.

I am used to tactical rifles (AR-15s, carbines, FALs) and am looking for a bolt action rifle that will allow me to hunt deer, elk, and the above-mentioned African game.

I want something that won't kick my butt with recoil, offer me a wide range of loadings, be reliable, lightweight, and get me on target at ranges of up to 300 yards.

I have a Tikka T3 Lite in .223 that is a joy to shot. I ran across a .30-06 Big Boar Tikka rifle that as a 19" barrel, is 6.1 pounds, 3 round detachable magazine, blued, synthetic stock, and also has Williams iron sights on it as well.

Would this meet my needs as described above?

Thanks!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorius triumphs, even though checkered by failure... than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat. - Theodore Roosevelt

Posts: 555 | Location: Tampa, FL | Registered: 09 November 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
John,