THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AFRICAN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  African Big Game Hunting    What is the effective range of a 9.3x62 with a 286gr bullet?

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What is the effective range of a 9.3x62 with a 286gr bullet?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Riodot
posted
I have heard many talk about having to make longer shots on some PG (300 yards +) and it got me wondering

I plan to bring my Husky 9.3 when I finally go to Namibia or RSA.

I am under the impression the 9.3x62 is caliber good up to about 250 yds with good accuracy and not much further.

( That is with an inderstanding of the ballistics and drop of the cartridge.)

What are your experiences and opinions?

I am not a proponent of long range hunting and I have other calibers that can certainly handle the range, but i want to use a classic rifle & caliber.

Lance

Lance Larson Studio

lancelarsonstudio.com

Posts: 933 | Location: Casa Grande, AZ | Registered: 11 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Lorenzo
posted Hide Post
I've taken a waterbuff at 100 yards without problem. A friend of mine shot last march two red stags at 200 and 250 yards each with a 35 whelan (very similar) with heavy bullets, so I think you can be confident with your 9,3x62.

L

Posts: 3085 | Location: Uruguay - South America | Registered: 10 December 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rick R
posted Hide Post
There's a 6" gong at 300yards on the local range that hates it when I bring the 9.3x62.
Wink

Posts: 1912 | Location: Charleston, WV, USA | Registered: 10 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post