New
Find
Notify
Tools

Courteney boots
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I just got a pair of Hippo courteney boots I ordered. They look great, but man oh man are they ever uncomfortable. I am going to soak them in the bath tub tonight and wear them until they are dry.

I don't reccomend them! Anyone own the buffalo kind? How are they?

I have been wearing Danner 8 inch Acadias desert and black for 10 years and am not impressed with these at all. I guess I take my $250 lesson and go back to Danner.

Posts: 228 | Location: Spain Jerez (Cadiz) | Registered: 08 December 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have Courtney boots in both ele and buff. I also have their "vellie" models that I use all the time. For me they are great! The ele's are slightly on the heavy side but I have gotten used to them. I wear the buff ones in open country and the ele ones in Mountain forest country. All of mine were "custom" made and fit me perfectly from day 1. No "breaking-in" required. I got mine straight from Bulawayo for under $100 and I feel they are worth every penny. thumb Sounds like you bought yours from WR Eeker

I have already had the soles replaced once on my ele - have had those for 8 years - for free! I guess the hippo ones might be "stiffer"?

"...Them, they were Giants!"
J.A. Hunter describing the early explorers and settlers of East Africa

hunting is not about the killing but about the chase of the hunt.... Ortega Y Gasset

Posts: 3035 | Location: Tanzania - The Land of Plenty | Registered: 19 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I likewise had them custom made in Bulawayo and shipped over here to USA. It was cheap, but man they are uncomfortable. Buffalo. Maybe soaking them in the bath tub is the answer. Soles leave black marks all ove the house, so do the two pair I had made for the Ms. of a different style. She likes hers except for the black marks.

I'd have to look at the boot to see the styles we got.