New
Find
Notify
Tools

Barnes TSX or Accubond ??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have narrowed my choice of bullets down to the TSX and the Accubonds, since both are 160gr, and shoot well from my 7mmRemMag. I will be hunting Namibia for Kudu,Mtn Zebra, Gemsbok, Red Hartebeest, Springbuck, Warthog, and hopefully leopard. I know that the TSX is a tougher bullet, but the Accubonds are supposedly pretty tough too. I would like to hear your thoughts. Thanks Wolf

Posts: 6080 | Location: New York City "The Concrete Jungle" | Registered: 04 May 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with either bullet. That said, I believe you should use the tougher bullet (except maybe on the springbok).

George

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Wolfgar, I've used the Barnes X bullet on two safaris to take nine of the large African antelope, including two gemsbok, two kudu, eland, red heartebeest, zebra and two wildebeest. I'm sold on Barnes bullets for the larger antelope.

Posts: 472 | Location: Bothell WA | Registered: 31 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Many praise the X for large game but it works just fine on the small ones too. I have taken 2 whitetail deer at 80 yards, a springbok at 120 yards, and a blesbok @200 yards in addition to a kudu at 200. All but the blesbok went right down, the blesbok ran 25 yards. 300 WSM with the 180 grain TSX at 2970 fps. No recovered bullets.

Posts: 1473 | Location: NC | Registered: 10 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What load were you using? I am about to work up a load in a M70 .300 WSM that Hill Country Rifles is finishing. I have always shot Barnes,recently XLC's, and after hearing Terry Blauwkamp expound the virtues of the TSX, I am going to have to try some myself. Did you chronograph your loads, or is that the "book" velocity? What kind of accuracy? I sure would like to compare loads. Thanks.