New
Find
Notify
Tools

KwaZulu-Natal
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Has anyone ever hunted the KwaZulu-Natal area of S.A.. Particularly the area just south of Swaziland and adjacent to the Mozambican border. If so what are the species available there and what is the terrain like?

6x NFR Qualifier
NFR Champion
Reserve World Champion Bareback Rider
PRCA Million Dollar Club
02' Salt Lake Olympic Qualifier
and an all around good guy!

Posts: 354 | Location: Fort Worth, TX | Registered: 12 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of shakari
posted Hide Post
I've been hunting KZN for about 25 years and a lot of it is rolling hills with mixed acacia.... But of course, it's a big area and generalising is usually a bad idea when talking about Africa. I'd need to know the name of a nearby town before I could give you details of the exact area you're talking about....

As to species, well most places buy game in so the best thing you could do is look at a trophy list for whatever company you're considering. It is of course though home to the nyala.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
The area is on the Pongola river near Jozini lake

6x NFR Qualifier
NFR Champion
PRCA Million Dollar Club

Posts: 354 | Location: Fort Worth, TX | Registered: 12 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Oops, near the town of Pongola.

6x NFR Qualifier
NFR Champion
PRCA Million Dollar Club

one of us
Picture of shakari
posted Hide Post
Know it well. As I said a lot of rolling hills & mountains (obviously) with flat land going down to the dam. Esp good nyala & red duiker in that area....as I said a lot of bought in game so species will vary from property to property.

The dam itself has very good fishing as well....esp for tigerfish.

one of us
posted Hide Post