New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pop up ground blind advice
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Happy yeast as the policeman at the roadblock said to me yesterday.

I’m looking for some advice on what the best pop up blind would be for leopard hunting. When I was an apprentice we used them with good success. The main thing about them is they are quick to set up for cases when you get to a bait late.

I would need something big that can fit 3-4 people and has easy and quiet entry/exit. Which blind would you suggest for this?

Thor Kirchner
Munyamadzi Game Ranch
+260 978157643
P.O. Box 570049
Nyimba, Zambia
www.thorwildlifesafaris.com
munyamadzi@live.com

Posts: 315 | Location: Luangwa, Zambia | Registered: 04 June 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Jan Dumon
posted Hide Post
Thor , there's a guy every year at the Huntex show in Johannesburg who sells the biggest pop up blind I have come across. I've checked everything for sale in the States and locally. I see no name on mine and I cannot remember his business name. I could check on it at huntex next month and send you info if you'd like.
Most pop ups are restricted on space , this one ticks that box and is well made. Works well.

Jan Dumon
Professional Hunter& Outfitter
www.shumbasafaris.com

+27 82 4577908

Posts: 774 | Location: Greater Kruger - South Africa | Registered: 10 August 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Tough to find one large enough to get 3 people, let alone 4 in. Most blinds have a 5'X5' footprint, and will only handle 2 people plus chairs, etc.

Here are a couple that should be big enough for 3, maybe 4. Barronett makes the largest blinds that I have seen. Standard hub designs. I've not used one, just looked them over at the deer/turkey show.

Barronett OX5,
Barronett Beast (the Beast is a double wide)
Barronett Pentagon

If you are OK with smaller, my preference is Primos Double Bull. Mine has lasted well over the years.

Jeremy