New
Find
Notify
Tools

378 weatherby
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am really new to owning big bores and I am curious has anyone hunted PG & DG in Africa with a 378 weatherby? I have one and am planning a trip in 2009. I have been reading threads here for quite sometime and really not much mention of this caliber at all. Just curious that is all.

You don't have to be the best shot....Just the last shot.

Posts: 126 | Location: Peace River, Alberta | Registered: 27 May 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Masterifleman
posted Hide Post
In my opinion, the only drawback to this cartidge for either DG or PG is excessive velocity. This has caused the breakup of other than monolithic projectiles. "Doctari" in some of his posts, says that even the velocity of the .375 H&H is excessive for proper penetration of buffalo and recommends either downloading the .375 by 150-200 fps or using the 9.3 X 62 Mauser. With projectiles such as Barnes, NF or GS bullets, I don't think that the projectiles will come apart such as conventional bullets. Considering that Saaed (sp?) uses an improved version of the .375/.404 Jeffrey, I think you'll be OK. The concensus on DG is, the bigger in diameter, the better.

"I ask, sir, what is the Militia? It is the whole people. To disarm the people is the best and most effective way to enslave them" - George Mason, co-author of the Second Amendment during the Virginia convention to ratify the Constitution

Posts: 1699 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 14 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
BDD,

One thing about the 378 Weatherby is that you really won't need to bring another rifle as it will kill buffalo or whatever big stuff you point it at as well as plains game way out there. As has been suggested I would try only monometal bullets. If you shoot the 378 with accuracy it will serve you well in Africa.

Mark

MARK H. YOUNG
MARK'S EXCLUSIVE ADVENTURES
7094 Oakleigh Dr. Las Vegas, NV 89110
Office 702-848-1693