Find
Notify
Tools

Ammo in Africa
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of trophyhunter5000
posted
I was reading stuntpilot2s thread on his 2005 safari (congratulations by the way) and I was curious as to the problem he encountered in his solids being stolen. I am new to the African hunting seen but am trying to plan my first safari. I have heard that ammo must be in factory boxes and combined with stories like stuntpilot2s it makes it seem pretty hard for a hand-loader to use his own ammo.

I have not yet chose an outfitter or even totally decided on what species I’d like to hunt (outside of buffalo). But I’ve made my mind up that I’ll be using my 505 Gibbs with my hand-loads as my heavy rifle. In an attempt not to highjack stunpilot2s thread I’d like to pose a question.

Is it not possible to ship your ammo to your PH? Would this not circumvent any potential problems with baggage inspections, factory boxes, or replacing hard to find ammo?

Thanks for any replies…..

Matt V.

Posts: 781 | Location: The Mountain State | Registered: 13 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Depending on country, PH's have a designated number of rounds for their rifle per year as established by the government. Shipping ammo to them can be problematic. You could make arrangements to "rent" or borrow a rifle instead of taking your own - personal choice.

I travel with handloads in after market containers with properly headstamped brass and have not been challenged on this. However, I have a three-rifle travel case and take two rifles and use the third (separate compartment on top)) for ammo and have been challenged by African Customs for not not having a completely separate case for ammo.

These are somewhat "gray" areas.

Posts: 2627 | Location: Where the pine trees touch the sky | Registered: 06 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of retreever
posted Hide Post