Find
Notify
Tools

Film for school instruction?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi
I'm a Public school teacher, and, I have so far, used Tom Lowe's lions vs. hyenas, and the cat video to great effect, with my ghetto San Francisco kids.

Anyone have suggestions that would help low income kids appreciate animals?

I'm not trying to imply that killing animals is bad, but, that their survival is critical to Africa, etc. for example the lion, cheetah, elephant, rhino, cape buffalo, etc. ???

Thanks

GS

One of Us
Picture of NitroX
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by GS:
but, that their survival is critical to Africa, etc. for example the lion, cheetah, elephant, rhino, cape buffalo, etc. ???

Are any of the named animals actually endangered? Other than in "wildlife documentaries"?

There was an excellent series from South Africa a few years ago, but I forget the name. It went through the wildlife of Africa, the problems of wildlife in Africa, conflicting issues, and solutions, including utilisation and hunting to provide value.

I tried to buy several sets of the videos to donate to libraries and schools but the communications were difficult and disjointed and it fell through.

I still would like copies of that series.

John H.

NitroExpress.com - the net's double rifle forum

Posts: 10138 | Location: Wine Country, Barossa Valley, Australia | Registered: 06 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You might want to teach the kids about how the animals with the greatest value as trophies have the largest and healthiest population levels in those countries where they are hunted legally.

Then show them how the biggest danger to wildlife is loss of habitat from a burgeoning human population that uses more and more land, less and less efficiently. The large cattle herds in east Africa that are kept mainly as a sign of wealth and not used much at all to provide meat or hides to a protien poor continent.