Login/Join

one of us
posted
Rwanda: Hunters Hunting Hunters

Focus Media (Kigali)

2 October 2008
Posted to the web 2 October 2008

Timothy Kisambira

To get rid of poachers, give them a new life and join forces to trace their colleagues. "Why do poachers hunt? For most of them, it is a question of survival."

Material confiscated from poachers is being burnt in public in Rwinkwavu.

Robert Komire, the chief warden at Akagera National Park, says it was this insight that led the Rwandan Office for Tourism and National Parks (ORTPN) to change tactics in 2003, and instead of hunting the poachers, to show them that they could benefit more from living wildlife and to help them change their profession.

Pascal Ntaganira is a typical example. Born in Tanzania, he went into the poaching business there in 1996.

"I was a soldier in the army of Julius Nyerere in the 70s," he says. "I fought in the 1979 war to topple Idi Amin's regime, and after the war I kept my gun. Because I was neither Tanzanian nor Ugandan, it was very difficult to find a job in those countries. So the only option to survive was to use the gun to hunt. I went after zebras, buffalos and hippopotami."

It was quite a lucrative business, he explains, with a kilogram of zebra or hippopotamus meat fetching 500 Tanzanian shillings on the local market. After hunting for one year in Tanzania, Ntaganira decided to come back to Rwanda where he continued his business.

He has been in prison several times for poaching, he says. One day, after attending an ORTPN sensitization campaign, the father of seven decided to give up the business and join hands with the tourism office to track down other poachers.

"I realized that in the end, hunting is nothing but destroying animals. I don't regret giving up the business, because I am now rearing goats given by ORTPN," Ntaganira says.